Mozart &
Material Culture


Concerto for piano (or originally possibly organ) in three movements: Allegro, Andante ma un poco Adagio and Allegro. Scored for two violins, viola, basso, two oboes, two horns, two trumpets and timpani. Composed in December 1772, Mozart performed the concerto frequently during the 1770s, both at home in Salzburg (presumably) and while touring to Mannheim and Paris in 1777-1778 (as documented in the family letters). K175 is Mozart’s first original keyboard concerto.

Mozart revised the work twice: in 1777 or 1778 he rewrote some of the wind parts; and in 1782, after his permanent move to Vienna and presumably to bring an older work more in line with contemporaneous Viennese taste, he wrote a new finale (Allegretto grazioso), adding a flute part to the scoring as well. The revised concerto, K175+382, was a staple of his repertory in the early 1780s.  

Mozart Cadenzas K175.JPG

W. A. Mozart, autograph cadenzas for K175, K382 and K271 (Salzburg, St. Peter’s)

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
Date 1
1783 (original)
Date 2
1782 (newly-composed finale)
Salzburg (original composition)
Vienna (newly-composed finale)